What is a hazard triangle and its three elements?

Spread the love

The Hazard Triangle is a concept that plays a pivotal role in risk management. It is a model used to identify, assess, and control risks effectively. The hazard triangle has three elements. (1) Hazardous element (HE) (2) Initiating Mechanism (IM) (3) Target and threat(T/T).


Hazardous element (HE)

This is the basics hazardous resource creating the impetus for the hazard, such as a hazardous energy source such as explosive being used in the system.

Initiating Mechanism (IM)

This is the trigger or initiator event causing the hazard to occur. The initiating mechanism causes the actualization or transformation of the hazard from a dormant state to an active mishap state.

Target and threat(T/T)

This is the person or thing that is vulnerable to injury and/or damage, and it describes the severity of the mishap event. This is the mishap outcome and the expected consequential damage and loss.

Example of hazardous components

Hazardous Element (HE)Initiating Mechanism (IM)Target/Threat(T/T)
High-pressure tankTank rapture.Explosion; Death/injury.
FuelFuel leak and an ignition source.Fire; Loss of system; Death/injury.
High voltageTouching an exposed contact.Electrocution; Death/injury.

Related posts:

Spread the love

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *